Please contact our media team for information relating to incidents

Your Stars of EEAST 2023

Date: 06 July 2023

Time: 09:30

Stars of EEAST 2023

On Wednesday evening the Trust came together at Barrington Hall in Cambridgeshire to celebrate our annual Stars of EEAST awards.

The event celebrates our most inspiring staff and volunteers, with individual special recognition awards being presented as well as awards for longs service, including our first recipients of the King’s Ambulance Service Medal for long service and good conduct.


This year’s winners are:

Lynne Storrie Award

Lee Sweetlove for his exemplary attitude and all the elements of what makes a great paramedic and role model.


Keith Marshall Award

Stuart Little for always offering support to his teammates following difficult jobs and working hard to make sure they are safe and well.


Volunteer of the Year

Christine Cheetham for her role in designing and developing an interactive platform to support new CFRs.


Trust Value Award for Quality

Owen Davis for always performing his duties to the very highest standards by completing diligent welfare calls and fastidiously accurate referrals.


Trust Value Award for Teamwork

Medicines Management Team for being friendly welcoming and respectful, and working to tight deadlines whilst keeping smiles on their faces.


Trust Value Award for Honesty

Janice Scott for staying positive even when having difficult conversations with colleagues and offering great support in times of crisis.


Trust Value Award for Respect

Chris Hewetson for showing incredible respect to bereaved families at inquests, delivering difficult and sometimes distressing information to them in a compassionate and considerate way.


Trust Value Award for Care

Joe Cartwright for being a passionate advocate for positive mental health.  He has worked incredibly hard to raise awareness of suicide while sharing his own story on the national stage.


Excellence in Patient Care Sponsored by Cleric Computer Services

Steven Langridge, Georgina Church, Clive Gill, Megan Bunyard, Edward Davey, Luke Taylor, Tracy Haskell, Jon-James Smith, Cala Thornton and MAGPAS colleagues Adriana Cordier and Steven Chambers for showing the utmost professionalism to deliver excellent patient care to a mother who had given birth to twins prematurely at home.


Excellence in Innovation Sponsored by Ortus

Unmet Needs Team for having a positive impact on the lives of vulnerable patients and their experience of receiving care.


Excellence in Professional Development

Caroline Dilley for embracing the role of LOM and continuing to develop both personally and professionally.


Excellence in Community Partnership

Jack Broomfield & Lee Umpleby for generously giving up hours of their own time to support the community on Canvey Island.


Excellence in Leadership

Rachel Avery for being proactive, inspirational, genuine, empathetic and a pleasure to work for.


EDI Champion of the Year Sponsored by Apira

Zain Hanif for going the extra mile in the run up to Ramadan to help colleagues at all levels of the Trust to understand more about Islam, its history and customs.


Team of the Year Sponsored by Mills & Reeve

Patient Safety Team for improving patient safety and encouraging staff to develop their own practices, as well as ensuring learning is shared across the Trust whenever necessary.


People’s Choice Award

Clive Parnham who was voted as the favourite from all our shortlisted nominees.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank everyone who took the time to submit a nomination, vote in the People’s Choice Award and of course to our worthy winners.  

This event would not have been possible without our sponsors, which includes EEAST’s own charity, which you can find out more about here.

  • Summary:

    On Wednesday evening the Trust came together at Barrington Hall in Cambridgeshire to celebrate our annual Stars of EEAST awards.